Summer Reading: The Mandatory

 

IMG_5329.JPG

too much

I’ve got a proper blog post in mind, but it will require some time and some careful gathering of my emotions, so for the sake of my post-weekly goal, I thought I’d let you know what I’ve been busy with this summer!

In the middle: Behold the great AP US History textbook, of which the first nine chapters are required (and sadly, not yet begun).

Surrounding that: My AP Language and Composition assignments.  The Great Gatsby and Reading Lolita in Tehran were indisputable requirements, while Superfreakonomics and Complications were my two choices out of four books.

So far, I’ve only read Gatsby and Superfreakonomics (talk about procrastination–my school year restarts September 3rd!)  The Great Gatsby was very beautiful, while Superfreakonomics was very out of my league yet interesting and informative.

“If it wasn’t for the mist we could see your house across the bay,” said Gatsby.  “You always have a green light that burns all night at the end of your dock…”

Possibly it had occurred to him that the colossal significance of that light had now vanished forever.  It had seemed as close as a star to the moon.  Now it was again a green light on a dock.  His count of enchanted objects had diminished by one.

My favorite so far, though, is definitely Reading Lolita in Tehran, which I’m only 70 pages in.  But it’s so good.  Aziz Nafisi integrates the literature that she describes beautifully into her memoir of life in Iran.  I love her style and descriptions of “her girls,” and especially the feminist thoughts instilled in the book.  I love it.

Welcome new followers!  This sort of post deviates from the norm, so keep on the lookout for a more full-fledged update soon.

For what I’m rereading, check out this post!  For other posts about books, how about this link?

Have any of you read these books?  let me know!

 -M.L.

One thought on “Summer Reading: The Mandatory

Leave a Reply

