Monthly Me (July 2015)

(Notice the new title for What I’m Up Tos? ūüėČ )

JULY brought an exciting internship and the most perfect summer days.  I soaked in music, sun, reading, and pools.

Selections from my Camera Roll

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Books

I’m still not done with Anna Karenina, and sadly I’m so absorbed with Tolstoy that I haven’t touched my other reading! ¬†Here’s some of my favorite quotes from AK¬†so far:

“Your tears are just water!”

He stepped down, trying not to look long at her, as if she were the sun, yet he saw her, like the sun, even without looking.

“I think…if there are as many minds as there are men, then there are as many kinds of love as there are hearts.”

Kitty always assumed the most beautiful things about people, especially those she did not know.

“I have nothing to forgive and forget, I have never stopped loving you.”

11791843_723763681079482_2003017604_n

I had a slow start, but I am completely consumed by this book.  Which is regrettable, because I know it ends tragically.

Music

Singles

Album

I only liked a handful of songs from Muse’s new album; overall the album was a little too intense for my taste. ¬†But it had a compelling theme and some pretty¬†sexy bass lines. ¬†When an album has¬†a beautiful and tender ballad about loneliness ending, and then ends with a church hymn about drones killing your whole family, you know that you’re listening to some unique stuff.

Also became obsessed again with Lana del Rey, which happens about every other week.

Bits of Internal Monologue

  • Has anyone ever noticed how after drinking Coke, music sounds 1000% better?drinking or doing
  • (While staring at an attractive stranger) Do you know I’d give my life for you?

Obsessions

good shit

TV

I have a lot of impatience with TV shows — a sub-par first season, or even first episode, can turn me off and diffuse my interest. ¬† Which I know is a shame, since there are probably a lot of shows out there that just need a little warming up and eventually are 100% worth the poor start.

I think The Office is one of those shows.  I finally got down to watching the first three seasons, and it does not disappoint.  Very good character development, very interesting character dynamics, and very funny.

click for source

How was your July? Let me know!

M.L.

Leave a Reply

