Monthly Me (October 2015)

October got crazy-stressful and difficult near the end, but I did enjoy myself for most of the month!

But first, let me take a selfie

A Peek into My Internal Monologue

  • I winged my eyeliner for this!
  • “What’s your favorite pasttime?”  Crying.
  • I don’t care about pro-life people.

Music

Singles

Me: “George Ezra’s voice makes me want to die in his arms.”

Albums

It took me a while to embrace its eerie lyrics, but I love this album!  I think it’s a lot better than Ultraviolence and a little bit more like Born to Die, though Born to Die‘s lyrics are still unmatched.  Still, this album had a cool jazz/saxophone motif and melodies that refused to leave me alone.  I think that Lana really employs her full vocal range in this one!  She sounds awesome!

Books

In English class we read the Oedipus trilogy, which is incredibly compelling!  We used the Dudley Fitts and Robert Fitzgerald translation.

Class notes: If one of the themes of Oedipus Rex is “you don’t know yourself,” then the theme of Oedipus at Colonus is “you don’t know other people,” and the theme of Antigone is “you don’t know what is right or wrong.”

TV

All of my shows have been doing so well!  Here are gifs of the most important moments I’ve seen so far:

(Brooklyn!  Nine!  Nine!)

(Hilarious moments like these dragged me back into Sleepy Hollow.  The third season, so far, is MUCH better than the second.)

AND ELEMENTARY IS RETURNING THIS WEEK!!! SO IT’S PROBABLY GONNA SWALLOW UP MY LIFE???


Sadly, last week I broke my weekly-posting streak, which is terrible because I had managed to keep it running since early June!  I’ve actually been writing a lot, but for college essays, not stuff I actually want.  Anyway, now that I’m done with my Common App essay, I should have more time to start writing creatively again.  I miss it!

M.L.

Leave a Reply

