Monthly Me (Mar ’16)

This March, I was way too busy for a second-semester senior, with Science Olympiad and Pit Orchestra — but I certainly enjoyed myself.

Selections from my Camera Roll

Snippets of Internal Monologue

  • It’s not a big deal, I just keep having vivid visions about our life together.
  • I need to keep the heart-eyes at home, to show that I am a well-adjusted and Normal Human Being (TM)Obsessions
  • EVERY SONG OF HELLO DOLLY
  • Ted Cruz is the zodiac killer meme

Music

Artists

Allie X has such an eclectic, weird sound that immediately hooked me when I heard “Sanctuary.”  She’s like a hybrid of CHVRCHES plus some sassy British pop female singer you might think of (Lilly Allen maybe?).  I still have more of her discography to investigate, but my favorites of her in order are “Prime,” “Sanctuary,” and “Hello.”

Singles

C’mon, c’mon // with everything falling down around me // I try to believe in all the possibilities…

Movies

Pitch Perfect 2

I finally got around to watching the sequel of Pitch Perfect.  Overall verdict: it was pretty bad, but still really enjoyable.

There were a bunch of writing problems.  Like the fact that the Bellas incorporated several new members, but we didn’t have the chance to connect with them except for the Legacy and a couple of illegal immigrant-related jokes.  The movie covered a large span of time, and for some reason the large time skips in this film didn’t feel as natural or well-done as they did in the first.  It was also really predictable (which was a problem of the first movie and probably just a facet of this genre).  20160326_051236000_iOS

Other than that, the dialogue was still witty, the antics still hilarious, and the celebrity cameos too big to resist.  I also laud their choice to include lesser-known and more alternative songs, like selections from Muse and “Back to Basics.”  The music was enjoyable and my favorite was actually “Any Way You Want It” by Pentatonix and several other international acapella groups.

AND WHO COULD FORGET THE SOLO OF MY FAVORITE B99 CHARACTER, JOE LO TRUGLIO?

TV

As you can probably tell, I’ve been loving Jane the Virgin with a ferocity recently.  But I don’t have to tell you that here; you can read all my reviews about it.  Elementary and Brooklyn Nine-Nine have been pretty sub-par, honestly.  And I’m now a regular follower of Last Week Tonight.

I wonder what April will bring? 🙂

-M.L.

 

 

Leave a Reply

