My Two Cents

So, on Saturday, I graduated high school.

graNaturally, I’ve been doing some reflecting.  High school was challenging, sometimes stressfully and needlessly so.  But overall it allowed me to solidify my sense of self, by both learning about the world around me in the classroom and learning about myself through friendships.  It’s hard to believe that the same timid girl has developed steadfast friends and a bit of bossiness.  Needless to say, I am very lucky.

In hindsight, I can think of only two pieces of advice that can carry you through high school, at least on a soul-searching, character-building level:

1) Surround yourself with good people.  Stick with friends who make you laugh.  Form a support group.  Trust people who build you up and call you out.  Acquaint strangers.  Be curious about them.  Expect honesty from others and yourself.  Purge toxic relationships quickly.  Befriend diversely to open your mind.

2) Be brave.  Try a class that you think is “too hard.”  Go to that party that you’re nervous about.  Join a club even if you don’t know anyone there.  Raise your hand.  Be forthcoming and vulnerable.  Chat with that cute boy/girl.  Pitch new ideas.  Don’t put yourself in a position to think: what if I had done…?  When in doubt, go for it.

Coming soon: raves and pics from my Europe vacation!

M.L.

Leave a Reply

