Monthly Me (July ’16)

July: late mornings under the covers, days in the car with friends, and nights with owls and Netflix.  This month was so relaxing and comfortable.  In a sense, I felt truly free.

General Life Updates:500 likes

  • Registered for first-semester fall classes
  • Reached 500 likes on WordPress!
  • I’ve been trying to pin down some volunteering and shadowing opportunities at various hospitals, so I had to be tested for tuberculosis.  When my PPD test came back positive, my life became an irksome hell of paperwork and phone calls.

Snippets of Internal Monologue:

Obsessions:

  • Driving with the window down and the music up really high 
  • Soda Crush
  • Plants
  • Lunching with friends
  • My (newly) (kinda) purple hair

Music

Thank God my walls aren’t thin because I’ve been screaming “AND SOOOOO SALLY CAN WAIT.  SHE KNOWS IT’S TOO LATE WHEN WE’RE WALKING ON BYYY” for days.  Idk,  there’s like a nostalgic, yearning, wistful feel to this song that tugs my heart a little.  (And of course the classic guitar is jammin’).

Touch my neck, and I’ll touch yours // You and those little high waisted shorts, oh

Somehow this MONSTROUSLY sexy tune escaped me the first time I taste-tested The Neighborhood.  The song loses momentum near the end but the beginning is just…God — guitar hasn’t sounded this seductive since Arctic Monkey’s AM.   My life goal is to be the subject of a song like this.

I ain’t trippin’, what my ex gon’ do?

Just a straight-up jam.  Love the carefree, fun vibe. nerve_2016_poster

Movies

This month I watched Finding Dory (3D), Inside Out (in an outdoor movie theater!), and Nerve.  My favorite was Nerve, which I reviewed in this post.

TV Shows

oRANGE IS THE NEW BLACK IS SUCH A RIVETING AND ELECTRIFYING SHOW I PHYSICALLY CANNOT WAIT UNTIL NEXT SEASON.  I AM TOO EMOTIONALLY INVESTED IN EVERY CHARACTER.

20160727_033007220_iOS-optBooks

This month I read Remembering Heaven’s Face, a memoir by Vietnamese literature authority John Balaban.  I want to make a proper post about it, but for now I’ll say that it caters to my itch for both Vietnam war facts and Vietnamese culture itself.  Next, I have to read A Walk in the Woods: Rediscovering America, and I’d like to reread some old childhood faves.

Important Tumblr Posts: 


If you want to know more about my month, I made some quick lists about it in this post!

-M.L.

One thought on “Monthly Me (July ’16)

Leave a Reply

