Monthly Me (Aug ’16)

August was a month of firsts: first stadium concert, first real camping experience, and first weeks of college.  It was a month of goodbyes and hellos.

General Life Updates

  • I SAW MY FAVORITE BAND LIVE AND I CRIED
  • Went hiking and camping overnight for the first time
  • Went to my first (real college) party and drank for the first time
  • Officially began classes at Penn!

Obsessions

Music

I managed to resist this (kinda creepy) song until a couple parties I attended played it.  It is a jam and I couldn’t stop crooning “toot toot” and “beep beep” when I was intoxicated.

A SONG ABOUT A LOADED, COMPLEX RELATIONSHIP FROM THE PAST I LOVE ITTTTTTT

I feel like such a fucking bawse whenever I listen to this.  An underrated song of Rihanna’s latest album.

Movies

Spotlight was an amazing and upsetting film that I recommend to everyone.

I also watched Zootopia, finally, and lost my mind at how clever, deep, and ADORABLE it is!

A collection of things I said about Zootopia:

  • “FUCK ME UP that was SO GOOD.”
  • “SO MUCH RACIAL ALLEGORY!”
  • (sobbing) “THEY LOVE EACH OTHER!”
  • “SO SMOL!”

TV

I watched the first several episodes of New Girl with some Science Olympiad girls back in March.  Even when I resume watching this month, I thought it was just okay.  Then I realized that [SPOILERS] the dynamic between Nick and Jess is literal fire.

So…many late night Snapchats of me sobbing about these two.

Season two was one of the most enjoyable and nail-biting television experiences I’ve ever had, just because the would-they-won’t-they was unbearable.  The two develop together and individually so beautifully.  More noticeably, Nick becomes a happier person with Jess.  Their kiss was the best thing I could’ve imagined.

However, I imagined the consummation of their relationship culminating pretty differently.  So, yeah, though it’s nice that they got together, it’s not as good without the slow-burn.  Season 3 was pretty sub-par in comparison.  I considered to stop watching.

I’ve been played and now I’m trapped.

M.L.

Last month’s summary

2 thoughts on “Monthly Me (Aug ’16)

Leave a Reply

