In the Company of Myself

Recently I’ve been smiling sadly my high school self; I’ve been re-reading some journal entries from her senior year English notebook.  Essentially, she was lonely and confused, searching for a sense of identity and starving for companionship.  She wrote down dreams of long hugs and soft hand touches.

I wish I could tell her that after a year, she’ll still be single, but she won’t feel so lonely anymore.  This is because she’ll share the company of good friends, open strangers, and a beautiful city.   But I think it’s also because she’ll spend a lot of time acquainting herself with the woman she wants to be.

-M.L.

Leave a Reply

