Books of 2023

Death on the Nile 

The Old Guard (graphic novel) vol. 1-3 I got into this after seeing the movie. Of course, the books are better. This is one of my favorite pieces of media ever. But — hello?! Where’s the rest of the story??

David CopperfieldThis was long–worth it, I think. It is emotional and good, but not as classic as other Dickens works. There are interesting insights about love made, but again, it’s just not very relatable.

SPQR (nonfiction) Trying to refine my knowledge of the *Roman Empire* after taking Latin for 6 years. Even with my background, I was struggling to follow all the names. But I really appreciated how she traced the difficulties of recounting history, and her chapters on minorities/the poor.

Tomcat in Love This book is crazy, like batshit crazy. I was truly not prepared, but I don’t regret it either.

The Old Man and the Sea

I wish I read more this year, but Copperfield was pretty long. 2024 will need more nonfiction for sure. Any recommendations or thoughts?

-ML

One thought on “Books of 2023

Leave a comment